Kelgray and Beyond

int game_engine(void) {

Childhood Dreams

This weekend I watched Superman III for the first time in years.  The movie was completely different.  Firstly from a respect that I have for Richard Pryor that I never had as a child.  Also the understanding that I have for technology now that made the first part of the movie make a lot more sense.  But there was something else about it that made a large part of my childhood suddenly make a whole lot more sense.  I used to have a reccuring dream where my sister and I were cliff diving.  We would jump off an incredibly high cliff into a crystal clear body of water.  Now I’m usually pretty good at interpreting my own dreams and figuring out where the images in them come from, but this image always escaped my grasp.  This weekend I found out that it was because when the image first entered into my mind I was too young to make the connection that the cliff and the water came from Superman III.  The bad guys are ballooning down the grand canyon when it has a nice crane shot which goes down from the top of the cliff and then swings slightly to the side just for a second which gives you the sensation of free-falling.

This is the second time that this experience has happened to me over the past few months.  The last time it was about a dream that I used to have as a child about an evil Pee Wee Herman.  Well it wasn’t really Pee Wee, just his giant mechanical head that watched over an evilesque funhouse full of rollercoasters and games and other such fun.  While Pee Wee seemed evil in these dreams, for some reason I knew that he actually wasn’t.  That he was supposed to seem evil, but that he was actually a good guy the whole time.  A few months ago I realized where this dream came from as I watched Flight Of The Navigator for the first time in many many years.  I remembered that the only other time that I’d seen this movie was when I was a small child, and I’d fallen asleep while watching it.  So Paul Reubens’ voice (the voice of the mechanical head that controls the spaceship) turned into the Pee Wee Herman that my young mind recognized him as.

There are only a few more recurring dreams that I can remember from my childhood that have yet to be explained.  One where I’m climbing through air ducts, another where I’m fighting some sort of demon in a cave full of fire and lava and climbing grass steps (this dream always got resolved but whether I won or not was not consistent).  Another where I’m falling gently through the middle of a square hole in several floors.  I don’t know whether or not I’ll ever unlock the key to these dreams, but who knows.  Maybe the next time I see a certain epipsode of Fraggle Rock it’ll all come into focus.

January 29, 2007 - Posted by | Dreams, Movies

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

