Kelgray and Beyond

int game_engine(void) {

I spent St. Patty’s Day with Epoc

It was at a small party of just about 12 people or so.  Epoc showed up with a girlie from back in the day.  I didn’t talk to him much as I don’t really know the guy, but I know of him in many ways.  When I first learned of Epoc it was when he was running ravehard.com, the site that fuelled the rave scene for the few years that it was running.  He was one of two local DJs who would always be able to get more people dancing than any headliners that they could bring in.  Him and DJ Double D.  He was somewhat of an icon of Calgary’s rave community.  But that’s not the only way that I knew of him.

My friend Chris Goode dated the mother of Epoc’s daughter.  Again, I never actually met him during this time, but I heard stories of the other side of Epoc.  The father.  The regular guy.  He showed Chris Sheppard up at the Palace, but to his ex and my buddy Chris he was just another guy who happened to spin some records.

I’m not really going anywhere with this.  It just seemed odd the way life can present you with such unexpected opportunities.

 Anyway, moving on to the game.  I know how to work with bin files now so I can store all my data and stuff.  I’m starting to get a pretty clear picture of how the game will operate as a whole once I move past the text based stuff.  At the moment I’m trying to figure out some character types and classes, a magic system and stuff like that.  Hopefully within a couple of months I can start moving on to a storyline while working with freebie graphics until I can get someone to draw something for me.

March 20, 2007 - Posted by | Beer, Calgary, Computer Programming, Games, Generalities, Musical Notes, Popular People, programming, Videogames

5 Comments »

  1. You left a note on my diary- wondering if I know you IRL?
    ~J

    Comment by January (Stranger) | March 28, 2007

  2. Yup, you spent St. Patty’s day with Epoc too. I slept on your couch afterwards.

    Comment by Taylor | March 29, 2007

  3. I thought it might be that Taylor. How did you find my diary?

    Comment by January | March 31, 2007

  4. I heard from Sean that he was going on a date with a girl who refered to him as Muppet on her blog and managed to find said blog and pieced together who you were after that. That was before I read that you didn’t plan on having Sean know about your blog in the first place and so I’ve stopped reading after that unless you want to give me permission. I just figured (and refer to it as a blog because) that which is published is meant to be read, and as a writer I’m interested in reading that which people that I know or know of write.

    Comment by Taylor | April 1, 2007

  5. No worries, just a little weirded out by the random note. =)

    Comment by January | April 1, 2007


Leave a Reply

