Kelgray and Beyond

int game_engine(void) {

A Dancing Dream

Last night I dreamt that I was putting on a show.  But that’s too far ahead.  Let’s start from the beginning.  It started where I was driving people around to different locations so that they could hang out with my friends.  People who I’d recently met (none of whom I recognise from real life) who said that they wanted to hang out with me.  I drove them to where my friends and I were partying but as soon as we got there I had to go grab someone else.  This happened over the course of several events and when I eventually asked one girl if she would hang out with me instead of going off to hang out with one of my friends she got offended and basically told me that I was out of line. 

Cut to the dancing scene.  There were four of us, two couples.  I was coupled with the girl that I’d had that conversation with.  We were performing three numbers.  The opening number was a class act, the second was a broadway style dance, and the third a cowboy/cowgirl style dance (though not to country music).  The show took place on the stage of Westside King’s Church (where my dad used to work) but had a larger, better, audience seating area.  We’d just finished the first performance and it had gone really well.  We had some time between performances so I went outside the building to explore the area that I used to hang out in (which was, of course, completely different from the real area but was still familiar).

I walked around the side of the building and Rufio from Hook was there and he asked me what I was looking for.  I told him nothing and continued on my way, but he followed me.  We went up onto the roof of the building (which was closer to the roof of my junior high school as it appears in my dreams) where kids went to hang out while their parents were in church.  I looked around at how grungy it was.  Litter all over the place, graffitti here and there, etc.  Then I looked over to the roofs of the nearby trailers that were pristine.  I noted to Rufio how lonely those trailers must be.  Nicer than the roof that we were on, but they never got the same attention.  He told me how even lonlier the roof of the janitor’s trailer must be, as it was in the same condition as the roof that we were on, but it never got visited either.

I climbed down and ran to the kitchen (makeshift dressing room which is derived from the fact that that’s where much of the preperations got done in the shows that were performed at Westside in real life) where I found out that I was late.  I started to pull on my first outfit but as I did I heard the music start and looked out to the stage to see that they were starting without me.  So I tried to pull my second costume on instead, but I couldn’t get it on fast enough.  The second dance was about to start so I abandonned that to put my third costume on.  They had just finished the second dance and I hadn’t quite put on my third costume when I woke up.

When I woke up I got an enormous sense of Deja Vu.  Laying there in my bed, looking at the ceiling and thinking about putting on my cowboy costume.  Not Deja Vu as in the sense that I’d done it before, but in the sense that I could almost swear that I had predicted that it would happen.  It’s much more likely that I’d simply had the same dream before, but it was strange nonetheless.

Anyhow, if you feel like taking a stab at an interpretation go ahead.  I’m still trying to work out all of the meaning, but I think I understand a fair amount of it, but would love to discuss if anyone feels so inclined.

March 22, 2007 - Posted by | Dance, Dreams, Musical Notes

2 Comments »

  1. Just a note on this dream. It kinda came off wrong when I wrote it down. I never felt like my friends abandoned or betrayed me in this dream. Every time I was alone I sought it out.

    Comment by Taylor | March 23, 2007

  2. Cool! kabababrubarta

    Comment by kabababrubarta | March 26, 2007


Leave a Reply

