Kelgray and Beyond

int game_engine(void) {

Calling All Programmers

I got a few questions to ask.  The first question is about the game.  I’m wondering if anyone can point me to a good tutorial on using 2D graphics in C/C++.  I’ve seen all sorts of tutorials out there on how to use directx to manipulate polygons and all that fun 3D stuff, but unless I’m involved in a big pretty game project, I’m not interested in that side of the coin.  What I need to know is how to draw tiled maps from pixels which can be navigated in 8 directions, add some houses and trees on top of that and an animated sprite or two and I’m happy.  I have seen a tutorial or two on how to do this, but they’re all missing the basics, that being what libraries to include and what functions to call to get the bitmap data in the first place.  If anyone knows where I can find a beginner/intermediate guide to this I would be most grateful.

The second question I have is about careers.  I’m wondering how hard it is to get a job in programming without having to get a degree (note that’s degree, I got no problem getting a certificate or even a diploma).  After taking the prerequisite course and looking into the curriculum of the certificate program that I may be about to start, I’ve discovered that most of the stuff they’re teaching is stuff that I already know, and the stuff that I don’t know is stuff that I’ll be able to learn just as easily (and probably faster) studying independantly.  The problem with degrees is that they cost a lot of time and money, and while I’m willing to put in the time to learn the work, I can’t afford to both pay tuition and not work full time while I’m doin it.  Is there some type of company that I can get an entry level programming job in without having the pieces of paper to prove that I know how to write the code that’s in my portfolio?

Lastly I want to know if there’s anyone out there who wants to work with me on my simple game project.  I’m lookin for someone who’s either also somewhere between beginner and intermediate with C/C++ or someone who’s willing to teach me a lesson or two about programming.  Leave a comment and let me know if you’re interested.

March 23, 2007 - Posted by | Computer Programming, Games, Generalities, programming, Technology, Videogames

5 Comments »

  1. sounds interesting… give me more!… you could have your project at http://sourceforge.net/
    that would also answer your previous questions concerning the career edge. a lot of hobbyist programmers get started out at places like sourceforge, google summer of code (http://code.google.com/soc/) -though you may be late for this already, you can try next year
    do let me know more about your project…. What platform do you plan to work on?
    In case you ve not checked out – http://gpwiki.org/index.php/Game_Programming_Wiki

    Comment by Nirmal | March 24, 2007

  2. Idea is to make a 2d RPG in the style of the good old SNES 2d rpgs (hopefully, eventually, with better graphics cus we got better resolutions now, but until we get a graphic designer on board it’s likely to be stick people or free graphics). I’m workin through the company offered learning courses for C and C++ where I work now (though it’s got nothing to do with my job, TELUS is great) and I’ve bought a book or two on C++ programming so I’ve studied a fair deal but I haven’t actually sat down and made a program yet so at the moment that’s my goal. To see where I’m at in the whole C/C++ deal and hopefully, after that initial goal is reached, move on to make a game that I can be proud of, and an engine that I can build on to maybe, one day, make large scale, low-tech, cheesy 2D RPGs that I might be able to sell at $2 a pop. My platform is windows mostly because it’s what I got and it means I don’t gotta learn something else but also cus it’s where the market is so I may as well get used to it.

    email or msn me at taylor.j.adams@gmail.com if you’re interested.

    I didn’t know how many games sourceforge hosted before, always thought it was mostly applications. Learn somethin new everyday. So the jobs that I found listed there are presumably unpaid work. Would companies consider the work done there as experience? While I am doing this as a hobby and will continue to, that is where I want my career to go. I’ve found a few positions in and around my area but all ask for a degree in comp sci, and at the moment I can’t afford to get myself a degree. Was wondering if there’s another way to break into the industry.

    Comment by Taylor | March 24, 2007

  3. Well im not sure if the jobs there are paid- i think that really depends on who is trying to get the project done. if it is a young student, like you, with an idea, all you would be looking for are people who like your idea and are willing to work on it.
    Occasionally you do have a lazy project manager, hosting up his work trying to get it done by “passionate” programmers!
    However, some great projects, like Azureus- a highly popular bit torrent client- do take birth at places like sourceforge.

    I would call it a great place to find great programmers, some innovative work going on, and of course with that you do get your recognition. yes, it would obviously be a dazzler on your resume

    btw i have linked you on my blogroll. :-)

    Comment by Nirmal | March 25, 2007

  4. just came across your blog today and read this post… i have some programming knowledge too though wouldn call myself an expert! btw what kind of project is this?

    and ya… i’m game!

    Comment by divyad | March 25, 2007

  5. I got my current programming job without a college degree, but that was possible because i had experience from my previous workplace – a governmental position to which young people without a degree are accepted as a policy. A side effect of this is a serious boost to the local hi-tech industry. It may be harder in your country.

    But anyway, my point is that solid proof of work experience is far more important than a college degree in any given workplace. The only problem is getting that solid proof.

    Comment by aharoni | April 19, 2007


Leave a Reply

